St Mary's Catholic College, Wallasey

St Mary's Catholic College
A Voluntary Aided Academy

Key Stage 4

Year 10 & 11 BTEC First, Level 2 Award in Children’s Play Learning and Development

This is made up of 3 units and the final Award will be at either a Pass, Merit or Distinction.

Unit 1: Patterns of Child Development

This is a multiple choice exam to be sat in the January of year 12. This unit looks at how children from birth to eight year, grow and develop from a holistic perspective. You will learn about the key areas of development, the links between them and how each area may complement each other. You will learn about expected milestones and ‘norms’ of development and consider how adults in early years settings can support children’s development.

Unit 2: Promoting Children’s Development through Play

This is a coursework based unit. In this unit you will look at how early years settings use play to promote children’s learning and development at different ages and stages, including babies, and the types of play opportunities that early years settings usually provide. You will learn about how play opportunities are structured and how early years settings use a range of ways to provide for play to benefit the children. You will learn that play is complex, yet very important to children’s learning and development.

Unit 3: The principles of early years practice

This is a coursework based unit and covers the importance of empowerment of children in early year’s settings and why the key person approach is used in early years’ settings.