St Mary's Catholic College, Wallasey

St Mary's Catholic College
A Voluntary Aided Academy

Key Stage 5

Year 12 – Childcare: CACHE Award in Child Development & Care
This course is equivalent to one GCSE at grade D to A*.

There are three units in total. Unit 1 and Unit 2 are coursework assignments and Unit 3 is a Multiple Choice Examination based on everything you have learned in the other two units.

Unit 1 An introduction to working with children aged 0-5 years

You will explore the main types of settings that are available for 0-5 year olds locally. You will be learning about the responsibilities & limits of the early years workers role in placement and when to ask others for help or advice. You will understand that every child is different and has individual needs and will be able to explain the importance of fairness and inclusive practice.

Unit 2 Development and well-being 0-5 years

You will be learning about how children develop physically, intellectually, emotionally and socially in the first 5 years of life.  You will identify age-appropriate milestones for every area of development and be able to name some factors that can affect a child’s development. You will be learning how to use everyday care routines & activities to support children’s independence, health, safety & well-being.

Unit 3 Child care and development 0-5 years

You will revise everything that you have learned so far in units 1 and 2. This unit is assessed by a one hour Multiple Choice examination.