St Mary's Catholic College, Wallasey

St Mary's Catholic College
A Voluntary Aided Academy

Key Stage 5

BTEC National Extended Certificate 

The Edexcel BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Sport is equivalent to one A Level. It is a natural progression from the Edexcel BTEC Level 2 Extended Certificate in Sport and is designed to further develop you into an independent learner. Throughout the course you will study a variety of topics and build upon your knowledge and understanding of the world of sport. The nature of the course not only gives you the opportunity to develop your knowledge and understanding of aspects of sport but it also allows you to improve your organisational skills, time management and the ability to apply learning to a vocational context. You will develop personal skills and attitudes essential for successful performance at university and in working life. 

How is the course structured? 

The BTEC Level 3 in Sport is run over two years and content is broken down into units. There are 4 units and each unit is worth a specific amount of points depending on its size. To successfully complete the course you must complete all four units. Two of the units are externally assessed and the other two units are internally assessed.  You must complete all units to at least PASS level to gain the qualification overall 

Units studied over the 2 years 

Unit 1: Anatomy and Physiology in Sport (120 GLH) 

Unit 2: Fitness Testing and Programming for Health, Sport and Well- being (120 GLH) 

Unit 3: – Professional Development in the Sports Industry (60 GLH) 

Unit 4: Sports Leadership (60 GLH)  


There are three methods by which this course will be assessed: 

A written examination set and marked by the examining body (Unit 1). 

A task set and marked by the examining body (Unit 2);  

An assignment set and marked internally (Unit 3 and 4);  

On successful completion of a unit, points are awarded depending upon the level of completion and the size (number of GLH) of the unit. At the end of the course, the points will be added from all 4 units to make a combined total points score. 

Overall PASS - Equivalent to E grade (16 UCAS points)  

Overall MERIT - Equivalent to C grade (32 UCAS points)  

Overall DISTINCTION - Equivalent to A grade (48 UCAS points) 

Overall DISTINCTION * - Equivalent to A* grade (56 UCAS points) 

Is there anything else I should know? 

The Edexcel BTEC Level 3 in Sport can be studied with a variety of other subjects to suit the needs of the student. It is widely accepted by universities and during the UCAS application process; students will need to provide details on attainment/expected attainment within individual units. 

Progression Routes 

Many students who study PE continue their sporting studies at university. The Level 3 course is excellent preparation for entering university courses such as Sports Science, Physiotherapy, Sports Development, Sports Coaching and PE Teaching.